PSU: Can I join the common pool team?
Home Forum Chat Wiki Social AGN PS2 Stats
Notices
Go Back   PlanetSide Universe > General Forums > Tech Forum

Old 2003-11-22, 08:55 PM   [Ignore Me] #1
RagingSpeedhorn
Corporal

OS cards

I read the sticky on overclocking, great thread btw.

I have a Gigabyte Rad 9600 Pro and I have overclocked the memory from 297 to 306.

297 = AquaMark3 score 20,340

306 = AquaMark3 score 20,377

Couple of questions, because I'm a complete novice to this.

1. Is the increase likely to have much of an effect on performace / framerate?
2. I keep hearing about cooling. Is this OS likely to have a detrimental effect on the temperature of the card? I am not running any additional cooling.
3. How do I (easily) find out the temperature of the card?
Old 2003-11-22, 10:28 PM   [Ignore Me] #2
Rbstr
Contributor
Lieutenant General

Misc Info

over clocking the memory a little isn't likly to need cooling as you can see from my card its oced 60 mhz without any additional cooling, i would NOT howerver do that on your raddy its a good card as is, also do not expect my OC results as the 5600 is a very ocable card the 9600 is less so. If you overclock the Engine(the GPU speed) you may want to get somthing, but only if you are realy into it, your rady should be fine as is. Through my OCing of the card i picked up between .5 more FPS in HUGE battles (but .5 means alot if you can bottom out at 2) and 15 in sanc, alos picked up near 100 3dmarks. With my CPU oc i was able to get 2 FPS more ing the huge battle and 10 more in sanc, with another 50 3dmarks. That was untill the CC patch, it threw my FPS back into the toilet. I do not recomemd OCing your CPU much at all unless you have good CPU cooling.

Most importantly, at the first sing of trouble tone the OC down a bit, or, if you are realy into it, get some better cooling, unless you want to buy a new card because yours melted.