Boosting Frame Rate? - PlanetSide Universe
PSU Social Facebook Twitter Twitter YouTube Steam TwitchTV
PlanetSide Universe
PSU: Hey you've got something on your shirt...
Home Forum Chat Wiki Social AGN PS2 Stats
Notices
Go Back   PlanetSide Universe > General Forums > Tech Forum

Old 2004-01-20, 11:13 AM   [Ignore Me] #1
Tobiaswolff
Private

Boosting Frame Rate?

Aye, okay, here's my system.

1.4 Ghz Athlon TB
128 Radeon 8500
1 gig of (Woohoo) SDRAM

Think those are the priorities.

Now I don't want the suggestion of "Dude, save up and buy a new computer." I know I need to, am in the process of it. I'm a poor college student and Mom and Dad don't buy things that I don't need to survive. So yeah, maybe this summer I can actually have bigger everything.

But right now I get a bout 20-30 FPS on continents, 40 or higher indoors, unless it's one of those giant stupid battles then I'm down to 10 and under.

Anyone have suggestions on how to kick my FPS up? I'm only 400 Mghz shy on the recommended settings on the box, and everything else is either equal or over their specifications. I figure there must be something keeping me so bogged down at 800x600.
Old 2004-01-20, 12:36 PM   [Ignore Me] #2
martyr
Contributor
Brigadier General

Misc Info

we can compare.

2x 2.4gHz xeons
2gb pc2100
128 geforcefx 5900

at 1280x1024 with everything turned off
i spent half my night at 4-20fps, the other half at 50(sanc).

so don't expect much boost... ever.

aside: do not believe the ad. planetside may "run great" on intel, but it DOES NOT SUPPORT HYPERTHREADING. it runs greater on amd. yes, i'm bitter. sorry.
Old 2004-01-20, 12:37 PM   [Ignore Me] #3
Laeritides
Staff Sergeant

You can try to OC your processor and Video card. Maybe someone else will have a better suggestion.
Old 2004-01-20, 12:54 PM   [Ignore Me] #4
Daleon
Second Lieutenant

Your pc stats themselves aren't that bad. Do you know if that 8500 is a full speed board or a LE? If its an LE, I would try and clock it up some.