How to fix the AV MAX - PlanetSide Universe
PSU Social Facebook Twitter Twitter YouTube Steam TwitchTV
PlanetSide Universe
PSU: which side of this so called planet?
Home Forum Chat Wiki Social AGN PS2 Stats
Notices
Go Back   PlanetSide Universe > PlanetSide Discussions > PlanetSide 2 Discussion

Old 2013-04-18, 06:21 AM   [Ignore Me] #1
psijaka
Contributor
Major

How to fix the AV MAX

EDIT - this opening post made redundant due to GU7 changes; see post 5 for details.

We all know that people who run dual AV MAX are a rare breed, which is no surprise as some of the weapons have serious shortcomings. Let’s take a look; I’ll use the NC Falcon as the reference point as this is the weapon that I have a lot of experience with, and it is actually pretty decent. I do have some experience of dual Pounders and Comets, so am able to make a valid comparison.

Against Armour:

Falcon has high burst damage, slow reload, with a tolerable amount of projectile drop. Velocity 80m/s, gravity 1.5. The Falcon is pretty decent against armour; the high burst damage/slower reload enables you to pop in and out of cover.

Comet is medium damage, medium reload, but zero gravity. However, velocity is significantly slower (60m/s) and the projectiles are highly visible. The Comet is not too bad either; the lower burst damage/shorter reload time means that you have to expose yourself to return fire somewhat more than with the Falcon, but it is still possible to use cover effectively. Having zero drop helps a lot against stationary targets; perhaps the easiest of the AV weapons to use; but this is balanced by the slow projectile speed which makes it trickier to lead shots, and the shorter overall range (300m instead of 400m).